Bruce Hamilton, Chairman Jessie H. Roberson Joyce L. Connery

DEFENSE NUCLEAR FACILITIES SAFETY BOARD

Washington, DC 20004-2901



August 23, 2019

The Honorable Bill Foster Co-Chair, National Labs Caucus United States House of Representatives 2366 Rayburn House Office Building Washington, DC 20515

The Honorable Chuck Fleischmann Co-Chair, National Labs Caucus 2410 Rayburn House Office Building Washington, DC 20515

The Honorable Ben Ray Luján Co-Chair, National Labs Caucus 2323 Rayburn House Office Building Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Lee Zeldin Co-Chair, National Labs Caucus 2441 Rayburn House Office Building Washington, DC 20515

Dear Representatives Foster, Fleischmann, Luján, and Zeldin:

The Defense Nuclear Facilities Safety Board provides independent safety oversight for the defense nuclear facilities at the laboratories. In recent years we have addressed topics such as earthquake hazards, nuclear criticality safety, safety controls for radioactive waste, and opportunities to reduce excess radioactive materials at the laboratories. The Board also regularly interfaces with the laboratories as they provide scientific and engineering support for DOE's other defense nuclear sites. For example, our Recommendation 2019-1, *Pantex Uncontrolled Hazard Scenarios and 10 CFR 830 Implementation*, issued earlier this year, focused on the need to improve how nuclear explosive operations at the Pantex Plant implement safety analyses developed by the national laboratories.

The Board has stationed resident inspectors at four DOE defense nuclear sites that are home to national laboratories: Hanford, Los Alamos, Oak Ridge, and the Savannah River Site. We are pleased to extend an invitation for members of the caucus who visit those sites to meet

our resident inspectors and to discuss their perspectives on safety at the national laboratories. We would also be pleased to provide follow-up briefings on any safety topics that interest members of the caucus. Your staff may contact our General Manager, Glenn Sklar, at 202-694-7000 or GlennS@dnfsb.gov to coordinate briefings and other interactions.

Bruce Hamilton
Chairman